APC: Senator Ahmad Lawan, Bisi Akande, Other to head national reconciliation committee

The National Working Committee, NWC, of ruling All Progressives Congress, APC, has named Senate President, Ahmad Lawan, to head its 10-member National Reconciliation Committee.

The development, which was announced by the National Publicity Secretary of the party, Mallam Lanre Issa-Onilu, yesterday, could sound a death knell for a previous reconciliation committee announced by President Muhammadu Buhari on February 6, 2018.

“The assignment will involve resolving disagreements among party members, party leadership and political office holders in some states of the federation,” Presidential spokesman, Garba Shehu, had said of the Tinubu committee, which other members were not named.

Shehu said then that the former Lagos governor would select those to work with.

While not much had been heard of that committee, the APC leadership said, yesterday, that after due consultation, it had appointed a high-level 10-member National Reconciliation Committee, chaired by the President of the Senate, Ahmed Lawan.

members of the committee, according to the party, are the first (Interim) APC National Chairman, Chief Bisi Akande, who would serve as Vice Chairman; Deputy Speaker, House of Representatives, Ahmed Idris Wase; Sen. Umaru Tanko Al-Makura and Sen. Kashim Shettima.

Others are Minister of State for Environment, Sharon Ikeazor; Alhaji Nasiru Aliko Koki; Senator Khairat Gwadabe-Abdulrazak; Sen. Binta Garba and Sen. John Enoh, who would serve as Secretary.

0 0 vote
Rate This Story
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x